Thursday, 07 September 2023 08:50


Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Council of Governors (CoG) held the 2nd edition of the Devolution Warrior Awards themed “Celebrating 1o years of Devolution” during a lavish dinner held on Wednesday, 16th August 2023. The gala was held on the sidelines of the Devolution Conference 2023 that took place from 15th to 19th August 2023 in Eldoret, Uasin Gishu County.
The Devolution Warrior Awards seeks to acknowledge and applaud the efforts of individuals and organizations that have championed, promoted and protected devolution and leveraged its potential to bring about positive change. These awards not only recognize excellence but also inspire others to actively participate in devolution and make a lasting impact on their communities.
This year’s Warrior Awards witnessed an array of remarkable nominees and winners, all of whom demonstrated exceptional dedication and innovation in local governance and advancing the cause of devolution. The Awards came in seven categories namely: Simba, Ndovu, Kifaru, Nyati, Chui, Njiwa and Tai.
“I wish to recognize the great efforts of the multi-agency committee that undertook a rigorous nomination and evaluation process to deliver these awards. It is my sincere hope that the nominees will treasure and uphold the award given to them and become greater advocates of devolution,” said CoG Chairperson Anne Waiguru while addressing guests during the Gala dinner.
The Simba Award was conferred to former Bomet Governor Isaac Ruto who served as the first Chairperson of the CoG and is currently a Commissioner with the Judicial Service Commission. Adah Omedi and Vihiga County , who were shortlisted for the award, were named the 1st and 2nd runners – up respectively. Integrated Development facility, an NGO that works towards achieving a citizen led public participation process in governance, emerged as the winner for the Ndovu award with former Makueni Governor Prof. Kivutha Kibwana coming in second position while Shee Kupi Shee took the 2nd Runner up position. Ms. Jedidah Wanyeki, an environmental and climate change activist and Founder of Greens of Africa Foundation bagged the Kifaru Award with Murang’a County emerging as the 1st runner-up while MESPT came in third position. The Nyati Award saw Santa Sebastian, a community development practitioner and Founder, Youth and Women Advocacy Network declared the winner while the 1st and 2nd runners-up went to Safaricom and the National Council for Law Reporting respectively. The Chui Award went to CREAW which champions the actualization of women and girl’s rights and social justice with Loroo Esekon Emmanuel emerging as the 1st runner-up while Population Service Kenya was the 2nd runners up. The Njiwa Award went to Act! which focuses on peace building and enhancing the capacity and resilience of individuals and communities with Dr. Charles Lochodo Malcom and Kiunga Youth emerging as the 1st and 2nd runners-up respectively. Nation Media Group won the media award dubbed Tai with Cape Media coming in 2nd position and Royal Media Services in 3rd position.
“I challenge all of us to continue championing devolution in our respective jurisdictions to ensure that both the present and future generations enjoy its benefits,” CoG CEO Mary Mwiti noted while appreciating the contributions of all stakeholders towards safeguarding devolution in Kenya thus far.

Read 225 times