Tuesday, 07 March 2023 15:13


Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Council of Governors (CoG) in partnership with the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nation under the Digital Land Governance Programme held an induction workshop for County Executive Committee Members (CECMs) in charge of Transport, Roads and Public Works from 20th February to 24th February 2023 at Lake Naivasha resort. Among those in attendance were H.E. Hon. David Kones, Deputy Governor, Nakuru County, Eng. James Kung'u, Chief Engineer from the State department of roads, Eng. Philemon Kandie, Director General, Kenya Rural Roads Authority, Mr. George Njao, Director General - National Transport and Safety Authority, Eng. Silas Kinoti, Director General - Kenya Urban Roads Authority, Eng. Eric Ohaga, President -Institute of Engineers of Kenya, Joachim Nyarangi, President of the Kenya Institute of Planners and Maureen Kinyua & Chris Korst from the Institution for Transport Policy & Development (ITDP).
Speaking during the official opening H.E. Hon. David Kones lauded the CECMs for their appointment noting the critical role that the forum would play in addressing key issues plaguing the roads and transport sector.
“Roads have been identified as a key enabler of vision 2030. An efficient, safe and reliable road and transport network will spur the socio-economic development of our towns and communities. Additionally, it is key to the achievement of all the other goals that a government wishes to attain,” said Hon. David Kones.
The workshop highlighted the following: programs and projects under the Ministry of Transport and the respective road agencies; areas of partnership and collaboration; Road Maintenance Levy Fuel Fund (RMLF) allocation to County Governments and its impact on road management and maintenance; Road Inventory and Condition Survey (RICS); update of the cost estimation manual; road network data management and dissemination and; formulation of the County Transportation and Safety committees.
Members were also taken through: national, regional, county, and community planning frameworks; urban mobility including developing bus rapid transit systems, promoting non-motorized transportation, and improving private bus operators' margins and; complete street network design principles, elements, templates and designs.
Additionally, Prof. Mutakha Kangu gave an overview of the clamour for the new Constitution and change in governance system, objectives and principles of devolution and unbundling, costing and transfer of sector functions.
“Transferred functions should be accompanied with resources to enable County Governments effectively deliver services to all Kenyans,” noted Director Committees at CoG Mr. Kizito Wangalwa.
“The Titling of Land is as good as the process of registering it. Digitization and digitalization is the solution to better land governance in Kenya,” emphasized Ms. Husna Mbarak of FAO.
Key resolutions arising from the workshop include: Kenya Roads Board to work with all County Governments to develop, review, and validate the road register; road agencies to consult, engage, and collaborate with Counties in their planning to avoid duplication of efforts; Counties to consider developing e-policing systems and traffic management technology; National Transportation and Safety Authority (NTSA) to cooperate with the CoG and County Governments to facilitate the formation of County Transportation and Safety committees; Counties to work with NTSA in enforcement of regulations governing illegal PSVs and boda bodas; CoG to be included in the review of the 2009 Integrated National Transport Policy and the Roads Act, 2007 to create an enabling legislative environment for the sector; and the CoG to consider adopting and promoting the ITDP Street Design Manual for urban areas in Kenya.
Further, Professional organizations, such as Engineers Board of Kenya, Institution of Engineers of Kenya, and Kenya Institute of Planners, were invited to collaborate closely with Counties to ensure that infrastructure projects are designed, approved, and implemented by certified professionals. County Governments were also urged to prioritize physical land use planning before the design, approval, and implementation of any project and to consider inclusive transit-oriented development policies that link land use policies to transportation investment to improve access to jobs, schools and recreational facilities.
During the induction, the CECMs elected their caucus leadership as follows: Chairperson - Eng. Drice Rono of Nandi County; Vice Chairperson - Hon. Stephen Mburu KK of Nyandarua County; Secretary - Cathrene Kenga of Kilifi County; and 2 members, Simon Orimba, Kisumu County and Amina Hassan, Mandera County.

Read 814 times