Wednesday, 08 February 2023 08:45


Written by
Rate this item
(1 Vote)

The Council of Governors (COG) led by H.E. Wisley Rotich Chair, ICT and Knowledge Management Committee held an induction for the County Directors of Communication and Governors’ press from 30th January to 3rd February 2023 in Mombasa.
While making his remarks during the official opening of the induction workshop and Launch of Maarifa Centre, COG Chief Whip H.E. Stephen Sang noted that thanks to devolution, there was a significant improvement in access to government services at the local level and increased public participation in policy-making, planning processes, and development projects.
“I would also like to commend the COG for their good work, especially on the revamping of the Maarifa Centre website that we are launching today. The website will enable Counties to promote the documentation and dissemination of County best practices, success stories, and devolution solutions,” added H.E. Stephen Sang.
Also in attendance was the CEO of Media Council of Kenya (MCK) Mr. David Omwoyo Omwoyo, Head of Corporate, Nation Media Group- Mr. Clifford Machoka, AMREF Deputy County Director, Mr. Gilbert Wangalwa.
The Induction saw County Directors of Communication and Governors’ press equipped with knowledge on topical issues including sector legislations and policies such as the Kenya Information and Communication Act, Data Protection Act, and County Governments Act, 2012; access to information as a function of Public Communication in the County; setting up of a County communication department; establishment of a strong and consistent County Brand; development of a communication strategy; media relations; crisis communication and; digital media.
Speaking during the Inaugural ICT and Knowledge Management committee meeting held on 30th January 2023 preceding the induction, the Committee Chair H.E. Wisley Rotich called upon the technical teams to identify specific areas that require urgent intervention, especially on matters of Knowledge sharing and providing digital solutions in Counties.
“I assure you that we will work together to mobilize County Governments, development partners, and the private sector to join our quest for digitizing Health, Finance, and procurement processes.” said the Chair.
H.E. Irungu Kangata who was unanimously elected as the ICT Committee’s Vice Chair further emphasized the need for peer-to-peer learning both locally and beyond. to enable Counties to acquire insights on the automation of government services as well as knowledge management.
During the aforementioned inaugural meeting for the ICT and Knowledge management committee, the COG signed an MoU with the MCK aimed at strengthening collaboration between County Governments, COG, and MCK. Key areas of focus include the creation of joint initiatives to help improve relations between County Governments and journalists; collaborative capacity building of County staff on media and communications; and support to the COG Maarifa Centre to make it a key information resource among media and journalists.
“I want to encourage journalists to report on the positive results and best practices in the Counties to inform citizens about the work being done. As a Council, we remain committed to providing a secure environment for journalists to carry out their responsibilities effectively. I urge the media to utilize the readily accessible and authentic information on devolution available through Maarifa Centre.” Added H.E. Wesley Rotich.
The induction meeting resolved among others that: County directors ensure they have a knowledge management champion in their departments; County directors maintain good relationships with both local and national media to ensure that best practices and success stories are told; County directors to ensure effective branding of their Counties to attract investors and ensure websites and social media pages are up to date.
In the same breadth, Mr. Aloice Ager was elected Chair of the County Directors of Communication caucus with Ms. Carol Nderi as the Vice Chair. Ms. Hawa Kala will serve as the Treasurer while Ms. Faith Seroney will be the caucus secretary.

Read 1156 times