Wednesday, 05 October 2022 08:57


Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

In fulfillment of Sections 19(2) and (3) of the Intergovernmental Relations Act 2012, the CoG convened a full Council Meeting in which elections were held for the Executive and the Council Committee Chairs. Through consensus, they unanimously agreed on the leadership that will steer the Council for the next one year.
Kirinyaga Governor, H.E. Anne Waiguru was on Saturday, 17th September 2022 elected as the 6th Chairperson of the Council of Governors. She becomes the first woman to rise to the helm of the Council Leadership and will be deputized by Wajir Governor H.E. Ahmed Abdullahi. Nandi Governor H.E. Stephen Sang was elected as Chief Whip.
Governor Waiguru succeeds H.E. Martin Wambora, former Governor of Embu County, having served 2 terms as Governor and 2 terms of one year each as the Chair of the Council of County Governors. The previous CoG chairpersons were Bomet’s H.E. Isaac Ruto (2013-2015), Meru’s H.E. Peter Munya (2015-2017), Turkana’s H.E. Josphat Nanok (2017-2019), and Kakamega’s H.E. Wycliffe Oparanya (2019-2021).
The elections were undertaken after successfully concluding a three-day induction workshop for Governors and Deputy Governors whose core objective was to build the capacity of the newly elected County Leadership and provide a reference point for the required systems, processes, and structures for optimal functioning of the County Governments.
The Deputy Governors Forum elected H.E. Martin Moshisho of Kajiado County as their Chair, H.E. Lucy Mulili of Makueni County as the Vice Chair and H.E. Reuben Ngatia of Laikipia County was elected the whip. The County Deputy chiefs further elected H.E. Ahmed Abdi of Wajir County and H.E. Josephat Kombo of Kwale County as the Secretary and Treasurer respectively.
Speaking during the handover ceremony, the new CoG Chair, H.E. Anne Waiguru expressed her enthusiasm toward further strengthening devolution and ensuring that all Kenyans access services as and when they need them.
“As we take up the mantle, we must strive to build on the successes and achievements made so that we can deliver on the devolution dream where every citizen regardless of status has equal access to services.” She noted.
The new Council of Governors executive leadership comes in with a full in-tray of pending issues inherited from the previous leadership. The CoG Chairman Emeritus during his handover speech reiterated that the task ahead is daunting but expressed his confidence in the new leadership to steer the course of devolution going forward.
“As I officially hand over the baton to the new leadership, I urge them to keep a close eye on the following: Anchoring of CoG Secretariat in Law; Finalization of the Pension for County Governors and their Deputies; Implementation of the progressive 2022- 2027 Strategic Plan; and Intergovernmental contributions for the secretariat activities,” said H.E. Martin Wambora.
“Devolution is truly a gift to the Kenyan people. As champions of devolution, l urge you to ensure that devolution becomes the cornerstone of our socio-economic growth and development as a nation. I commit to ensure that we push for legislation that will advance devolution in Kenya. We will be facilitators and not impediments to devolution,” added National Assembly Speaker Rt. Hon. Moses Wetangula while delivering remarks on behalf of H.E. the President Hon. Dr. William Samoei Ruto during the official closing of the induction conference.
The new CoG Chair affirmed that the Council would be vibrant, robust, and committed to deepening devolution; supporting the activities of the Council by being present when needed and sharing our views; promoting a positive image of the Council; and, actively participating in the Committees.
Governors also conducted an election of the chairpersons of the 18 technical committees that are in line with the devolved functions alongside other committees that were formed through a Council resolution to ensure the smooth running of the Governors’ Council. The current leadership will serve for a one-year period before elections are held.
In the same breath, the Council launched its Strategic Plan for 2022-2027 in a bid to strengthen devolution in the third generation of County Governments and ensure effective service delivery for all Kenyans. The Strategic Plan is anchored on 3 pillars: Good governance and institutional capacity for sustainable service delivery in the Counties; Intergovernmental relations and devolution; and CoG’s institutional development. The successful implementation of the Strategic Plan will require collaboration, consultation, coordination, information sharing, capacity building, performance management, dispute resolution, and peer learning among all stakeholders.
The 2022-2027 Strategic Plan’s pillars, strategic objectives, and strategies will propel the achievement of CoG’s mission and vision – to have Prosperous Counties that are drivers of socio-economic growth and development and quality service delivery.

Read 589 times Last modified on Wednesday, 05 October 2022 09:33